Day 22: Laughter on the mat, naming my ‘baby’, and not mentioning anyone in particular.

June 23, 2008

Today I did only Advanced Class. Which, yeah, not so much only. But only, meaning, I didn’t do regular class first. Which was fine. I actually didn’t mind much and felt plenty warmed up and ready to go. Advanced has become something I really really enjoy. There’s usually a point in the class where I seriously wonder why I have come, but that feeling subsides as the hours roll on. By the end of it, I feel awesome and light and happy. Probably the best thing about Advanced class is that the guard is kinda down and it’s ok to talk a little. This helps me, seeing as how I ALWAYS have snide comments in class anyway. Advanced gives me the chance to make them, aloud, AND laugh at myself. And trust me, I do plenty of laughing at myself. And laughing at with others.

There’s a posture we do called “rock the baby.” I’m not entirely sure this is the real name of that posture, and it’s certainly not the Sanskrit for it. But it really is like rocking a baby. And apparently last week during Advanced (where I was not in attendance) everyone took to naming their babies. I missed this totally fun class, but today I thought of a good name for my baby. Miss Jennifer said I would probably end up writing about it on my blog. Silly Jen, I don’t mention names on my blog! Only the teachers (and Daren), I said. The teachers are exempt from my rule. Hey, that’s what they get. But my baby’s name was so lovely and perfect. And as I sat there rocking my baby, looking lovingly at her my right leg, I couldn’t help but laugh.

It was a fun class and I enjoyed it. Tomorrow I will get up early and go back to class to make sure I don’t get so stiff I can’t walk. Ahhh, I love Bikram Yoga.

Leave a comment