T minus 2 Hours.

September 14, 2008

In about two hours, this whole thing gets rolling. Wow, can’t believe it.. Still.

The hotel is amazing, as you can see from the videos. It’s the biggest resort property I’ve ever seen. Sprawling for I have no idea how far. I’ve completely moved into my room, been to the store for food, and been to the pool twice. Today I had my first taste of the buffet, not bad. I’ve met fellow trainees every time I go out of my room or anywhere. We’re multiplying all over the hotel. Pretty neat, and you can usually spot them (or us) a mile away. The hotel is at capacity, as it’s a holiday this weekend, and VERY busy. The pools have been packed, and the beach is a mess of cabanas. I haven’t gone down to the ocean yet. Maybe tomorrow. I’m not really into the beach, but I’m sure over the next 9 weeks, I’ll get down there. No rush, right??

Anyway, here’s something GREAT!! I have wifi access just outside of my room! Yayy! It doesn’t reach inside, which is probably honestly a good thing. But I do have access and will be able to post and hopefully update (somewhat) regularly. Here’s something else GREAT!! I found a MESS of delicious fresh produce… Ohhhh, and the mangoes.. Ohhh, Ren is a happy girl. My groceries today were mangoes, bananas, peaches, apples, spinach, SPROUTS! (gasp), carrots, avocadoes, and a TON of limes. Limes make me happy, and they make me want to pound the water. Yayy limes. Surprisingly enough, NO lemons anywhere. Someone told me they arrive here in November? Or something. Whatever.

Back on track, sorry. I have plenty of food for the week, and probably for part of next. I’m going to be alright, and I feel good about knowing how to get things prepared for dinner. Wraps, sandwiches, fruit. I’m set. The kitchen stuff I brought along (thanks JEN!!) is a lifesaver. However, I found today I could have obtained almost all of it at Walmart. Oh well, I’m prepared. Oh and my precious stash of Powerbars. Like GOLD.

Where was I? Oh, right. GOOD stuff: my room is luxurious, the hot room is massive, the hotel is immaculate, the Fairmont staff is friendly, and everyone I’ve met here for Training is lovely. The pool is a good place to relax, and even study that Dialogue. I’ve been there a few times and it’s nice. I’m being RELIGIOUS about my sunscreen. The last thing I need is a blasted sunburn right before the week begins. I still have no roommate but I am sure she’ll arrive today. I’m excited to meet her.

So anyway, I’m settling in and finding it easier to breeze around this place. I feel ready to go tomorrow. We (apparently) do not have a yoga class until tomorrow afternoon. Did I mention I WANT TO GO TO CLASS??? Well, I do. I DO. LET’S GO!!!

Soon enough…

For my peeps in The Woodlands and all my lovelies who went through the storm, I love you all. I know you are without power and won’t read this for a few days. I am thinking of you all the time and am happy to know you’re all safe and sound. For my family, I send you hugs and kisses galore. Today is my baby’s birthday. Simon is FIVE!! We celebrated his big day before I left, but I am still thinking about him. (sigh)

After tonight, I will post as time permits. I’m HERE and thankful.

Namaste.

4 Responses to “T minus 2 Hours.”

  1. Michelle Says:

    inhale through the nose, exhale through the nose…..
    inhale through the nose, exhale through the nose….

    🙂

    thats all you need to know to get started this week!

    you are strong, able, willing, prepared and ready to rock!

    GO KAREN!!
    Michelle from Vegas

  2. Duffy Pratt Says:

    I have a request. You will probably be making some friends with other students who will be blogging about their experience. Could you post links to any other blogs you become aware of? I’m really enjoying reading this, and would love to get other impressions of the training as well.

  3. Brad Says:

    You picked a good time to leave — we could be without power for a *while*! Everyone is saying *weeks* — let’s hope that it’s sooner! For now, we are settled in at my parents.

    Look forward to seeing how that first class goes for you! 🙂

  4. Cisco Says:

    i am glad you are able to go thru this experience!

    Cisco
    PS Limes are the thing in Mexico – not so much the lemons


Leave a comment